So it took a long time, but I finally got around to it. The groups are not going to be super tight. I was using a lead sled, but on a fold up plastic table in a farm field. It was still pretty easy to rock the gun around.

So above we have the first 4 ladder steps. 2171, 2198, 2225 and 2252.

Then 2278, 2304 next and the first time I got a flier. I shot each ladder round in quick sequence. Fired 4 shots and walked out and change the target and fired 4 more. There is not hot and cold lane at a range to wait. It’s cold when I stop shooting. So I started to learn how fast a barrel could heat up and then shot drift off. After taking a break and leting it cool down I shot 2329 and 2354. Both grouped fine but as we are getting faster the bullets are rising on the target.

Then 2378 and 2403 and both times I was getting the barrel hot again. Shots 1, 2 and 3 on target and the 4th on each one drifted off because of the hot barrel. Letting it cool and it was back on target. 2429 was the last ladder of the day. It was getting ready to rain and I tried to push this one and the barrel was hot by the 2nd shot. I let it cool some 3 was okay and 4 missed the paper.

Then back out another weekend, but now with a barrel cooler I will have to post how I made it. Started with 2450 and shot one was high and I started messing with the scope zero and it all went south but I got it back to shoot the other rounds. The 2474, 2497 and 2520 and none of them were holding good groups and expanding wider. Only got 3 of 4 in 2474 as one of the primer failed from CCI. It was seated good and dented good, but would not go off and I hit it twice.

2542 and 2564 spread all over the target and 2587 and 2609 wire very high and spread out also.

So from what I saw, but last consistent and fastest speed was 2403 with 37.5 grains of 4198 powder. I will be reloading 100 more rounds for sighting in at 100 yards and then 200 yards and practice and getting ready for hunting.

I never noticed any lead fouling or leading at all. Not sure if the gas checks prevented all that. When cleaning it could some lead crumbs and some red powder coat crumbs but hardly anything. The gun was remarkable clean for as much as it was shot.

That is it for now and off to the next adventure, Enjoy!